MeckPAC endorsees sail to victory, including openly lesbian candidate in Davidson

Jane Campbell joins Charlotte’s LaWana Mayfield among local LGBTQ community members holding elected office

CHARLOTTE, N.C. — Tuesday’s general elections in Charlotte and across several Mecklenburg County towns saw historic wins for LGBTQ and friendly candidates. A landslide victory in Charlotte’s mayoral and city council races saw all MeckPAC-endorsed candidates handily win their races and other MeckPAC-endorsed candidates also fared well in their races across the county.

In Davidson, openly lesbian candidate Jane Campbell will become a new member of the town’s board of commissioners. Campbell had previously run for the North Carolina House, largely in response to the passage of the discriminatory HB2. Campbell’s election means that two of Mecklenburg County’s cities now have open LGBTQ representatives in local government. In addition to Campbell’s win, Charlotte City Council District 3 incumbent LaWana Mayfield will return to her council seat. On Tuesday, she handily defeated anti-LGBTQ challenger Daniel Herrera.

MeckPAC endorsed several other candidates in Mecklenburg County towns. This year, MeckPAC was excited to more than double the number of candidate responses we received in 2015 from Mecklenburg County town candidates. We congratulate our endorsed and/or receptive candidates in surrounding towns, including: Dave Gilroy and Thurman Ross for Cornelius Town Commission and Rusty Knox for Davidson mayor.

Endorsed school board candidate Carol Sawyer also won her race for the District 4 seat on Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools Board of Education.

Other candidates weren’t able to quite make it over the finish line on Tuesday, but MeckPAC remains hopeful that their campaigns and their future involvement will continue to create conversations on inclusion and equality across Mecklenburg County. MeckPAC thanks CMS candidate Janeen Bryant, Cornelius candidate Ava Callender, Davidson candidates George Berger, Ryan Fay and Rodney Graham, Huntersville’s Lance Munger, Matthews candidates Norah Burke, Sebastian Feculak and Dimple Shaw and Pineville’s Scott Goldsmith.

Vi Lyles and Charlotte City Council landslide victories a clear repudiation of negative, anti-LGBTQ attacks